COUP TRAIL - TAKCHSIN

In 1986 the National Conference Trip took the lodge contingent from Detroit to Toronto. During that part of the road trip, Kim Hansen, Director of Support Services for the Council, suggested to Dave Halliday that the Lodge sponsor a Junior Leader Training Course for arrowmen to go along with the Silver Moccasin program which was filing a dozen troops each year at East Fork. Work began on a Syllabus for the Course and it was ready to go at the start of 1987. It was loosely based on the National JLT (a mini Woodbadge) then in effect.

The first year almost resulted in cancellation of the project. However Ken Hansen and Dennis Holtby (JLT Director for the council) argued that it needed to be done again. It was and the course clicked with the membership.

In 1998 was clear that the national JLT program was not working any longer for OA leadership. A total revision of the Course was undertaken with a new syllabus based on a different type of training. The course focuses on Skill that a Scout needs to Know, Skells he needs to do and persoanll attributes that he needs to be in order to be a successful leader. Whereas other courses teach leadership from the assumption that the group to be directed is already formed, this course teaches leadership from the point of view that the formation of the group is of major importance. It provided the lodge with outstanding leadership during its most exciting period.

In 2005 the named was changed to Takachsin (Leader). This was the original name of the course draft, but the change never quite caught on with the lodge.

NUMBER	YEAR	ATTENDANCE	COURSE CHIEF
1	1987	48	Steve Sugden
2	1988	48	Ryan Mecham
3	1989	48	Wes Clark

4	1990	64	Jase Feichko
5	1991	64	Dan Stanford
6	1992	64	Tyson Webb
7	1993	80	Steve Brown
8	1994	96	David Swenson
9	1995	96	John Buchanan
10	1996	96	Danny Soulier
11	1997	96	Trevor Thompson
12	1998	96	Aaron McCallister
13	1999	80	Marcus Swenson
14	2000	54	Tijs Limburg
15	2001	60	Chris Flink
16	2002	20	David Augason
No Course	2004	13	Josh Snow
·		-	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
18	2005	44	Kevin Engberson

19	2006	25	Sam Bishop
20	2007	25	Russ Byersdorf
21 Matt Scholl 2009 2010 2011 2012	2008 Brian Henry No Course No Course No Course 24	Nicholas Shrum	Brad Mecham
2013	Ben Stratton	Brad Mecham	