HISTORY OF THE OA

In 1915 on Treasure Island outside of Philadelphia, E. Urner Goodman and Carroll Edson formed an Organization that came to be known as the Order of the Arrow, the Brotherhood of Cheerful Service. Its traditions were chosen from among those of the Delaware Indians who inhabited the area.

Only those who were elected by members of their units could join by completing a test of their dedication, called the Ordeal. As years past, scouts moving to other councils or hearing of the movement also established groups of "Arrowmen" in their areas.

The organization in each council was called a lodge. Because of the positive effect of the movement in providing service to councils and communities and positive effect of the traditions on the lives of its members, the National Council of the Boy Scouts formally accepted the Order of the Arrow as part of its program in 1948.

It is now recognized as the only honorary society in scouting. Over a million members have joined and lent their service to the Order since its founding. In 1956 the El-Ku-Ta Lodge was chartered in ceremonies at Camp Steiner. At the present time, the lodge has over 700 (2010) members comprising student body officers, school athletes, church and civic leaders, and scouts of every background and description. Arrowmen staff most scouting events, play on most athletic teams, hold most scouting awards, and do over 8,000 man hours of service a year in the Great Salt Lake Council Area.

We echo the sentiments of our founder, "The Order of the Arrow is a thing of the spirit," as have thousands of Arrowmen across the nation before us. Membership in the order is on a par with any other Scout award including the Eagle Rank

More information can be obtained from the National Fact Sheet.